😚Taipei Performing Arts Center:Your browser seems not to support ✪ Javascript ✪ functionality. If webpage features are not working correctly, please enable your browser's ✪ Javascript ✪ status.

ADAM

:::

Asia Discovers Asia Meeting for Contemporary Performance

The Asia Discovers Asia Meeting for Contemporary Performance (ADAM) was launched by the Taipei Performing Arts Center in 2017. It is a network gathering event that places artists at the core, and aims to create a new arts platform in the Asia-Pacific region (including New Zealand and Australia), which allows artists to connect with each other and share resources. It hopes to facilitate transnational artistic creation, giving young artists broad and continuous opportunities for exchanging ideas. ADAM believes in "Asia Discovers Asia." With creators at the core, we can work together with presenters, art festivals, and curators across the Asia-Pacific region to pool resources for co-creation and performance tours. This will allow us to establish an Asia-Pacific contemporary arts network.

In the past few decades, exchange between presenters, curators, and producers have increased in frequency through performing arts markets, particularly in Asia and Europe. Connecting, collaborating and sharing resources between various arts networks has become the norm in global cultural industries and markets. As international collaboration mindsets become more institutionalized and formalized, artists must play a more important role in the industrial framework. The Taipei Performing Arts Center believes that the operating foundation for ADAM and our cultural responsibility as a public theater is to deepen exchange and collaboration between artists, create a friendly creative environment for artists, help artists develop their professional networks, and provide a more transparent and open platform mechanism.

Asia's diverse cultural backdrop and Taiwan's democracy, freedom, and abundant artistic energy has allowed ADAM to become an artist-focused network. The Taipei Performing Arts Center will pool resources and partner presenters with creators and performers in the Asia-Pacific region, facilitating international exchange among artists. This includes co-commissioning, co-producing, performance tours, artist-in-residence programs, and research schemes. ADAM transcends political and economic barriers and crosses the boundaries of performing and visual arts. Artists from all over the world and from all disciplines can come together to learn more about Asian culture and develop their future plans.

ADAM is committed to:
1. Supporting international collaboration and exchange among artists and facilitating friendly dialogue between artists and institutions.
2. Considering and working within the context of arts, culture, and societal engagement in the Asia-Pacific region.
3. Working together with partners and being open to proposals for cooperation from other arts networks and organizations.

As a shared network, the Taipei Performing Arts Center will invite partner presenters from nations in the Asia-Pacific region to discuss future blueprints and organizational operations for ADAM. Under a long-term strategic alliance, ADAM will become an entry point for cross-network collaboration in the Asia-Pacific region.

平台計畫/國際結盟/亞當計畫/2024/亞當元素圖-5

2024 ADAM

Curatorial Statement

Choreographing Theirstories

As one of the few projects in the Asia Pacific Region’s institutional realm dedicated to artistic exchanges, research, and development, this edition’s ADAM Gathering in Taipei is scheduled from 28 August to 1 September, and the related events start on 23 August.  

With the notion of Choreographing Theirstories, this edition of ADAM Gathering explores how their-stories can reshape the understanding of contemporary times, and how artists have intertwined and speculated the relational between bodies, places, and stories through movements, actions, and mobility. 

For the first time, the critical program ADAM Artist Lab ventures beyond Taiwan. In partnership with BIPAM (Bangkok International Performing Arts Meeting), Sasapin Siriwanij joins as Guest Curator, leading the Lab in Bangkok and Taipei with the Taiwanese artist Huang Ding-Yun. Bringing together performing and visual artists from Vietnam, Thailand, Indonesia, Japan, Australia, Germany, and Taiwan, the ADAM Artist Lab dives into cultural, personal, and collective histories, herstories and theirstories of cities, places, and communities through a non-heteronormative lens. 

In collaboration with the National Cultural and Arts Foundation of Taiwan, the launch of Curatoké - Performance Curator Academy marks a new avenue for cultivating emerging curatorial practitioners with international mentorship composed by Daniel Blanga Gubbay (Artistic Co-director, Kunstenfestivaldesarts), Jeff Khan (Creative Director, Asia TOPA), Nayse López (Artistic Director, Panorama Festival), Low Kee Hong (Creative Director, Factory International), Rucera Seethal (Artistic Director, National Arts Festival South Africa), and Faith Tan (Director, Programming, Esplanade - Theatres on the Bay, Singapore). Young curators from Taiwan, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Australia, and Estonia will take ADAM Gathering as a dialogic, research, and learning space as part of the training program.

To perform various creative processes of new projects, the ADAM Kitchen program with international partners features Chunky Move dance company, Gaya de Medeiros, and Emma Maye Gibson among others. Emerging from the 2023 ADAM Artist Lab, Taiwanese First-Nation artist Ciwas Tahos (Anchi Lin) and Japanese choreographer Nanako Matsumoto have extended their encounters and dialogues to collaborate for a new project. Before its premiere in the 2024 Kyoto Experiment, they will present a work-in-progress preview during the ADAM Gathering. 

Selected programs of the Taipei Arts Festival during ADAM Gathering such as Su Pinwen’s Leftover Market, Ku Kuang-Yi & Robert Johnson’s Bat Night Market, and Mathilde Monnier’s Black Lights will resonate with the intertextuality of the embodiment and choreography of her-stories and their-stories. 

The festival’s curatorial research in residence project Cruising continues to cruise between islands of the Asia Pacific. While Helly Minarti’s project The Sea Within will present the next phase of the work, the curatorial trio of Kyoto Experiment begins the research named Traveling Tongues with artists from Japan,

The Philippines, and Taiwan to investigate migration and mobility in the past and now through cuisine, food customs, and cultural Identities. Additionally, a series of dance and theatre showcases will offer international professionals a window into what’s on the Taiwanese performing arts horizon.

Come and be inspired by artists through their fascination with the unknown and questioning. The 8th edition of ADAM Gathering with the selected program of the Taipei Arts Festival celebrates the vivid tapestry of voices that contribute to the vibrant cultural mosaic of our region and beyond, choreographing us in a shared journey of their-stories.

Curator - River Lin

Photo of River Lin 

Working with Live Art, dance, and queer culture, Paris-based Taiwanese artist River Lin is Curator of the Taipei Arts Festival, ADAM, Camping Asia and Curatoké: Performance Curator Academy at the Taipei Performing Arts Center. He is also Co-Curator of the Indonesian Dance Festival, Guest-Curator of the 2025 Biennale de la Danse de Lyon, and Guest Co-Editor for the OnCurating's Special Issue. His artistic work has been presented internationally by Centre Pompidou, Centre National de la Danse, Live Art Prize, M+ Museum, and Taipei Fine Arts Museum among others.

Photo Credit by Taipei Performing Arts Center

Artist Lab

The ‘ADAM Artist Lab’ invites the artists to be guest curators for further realizing the ‘artist-led’ concept and practice of ADAM. It brings together international artists, through open call or invitation process,  to convene in Taiwan and take part in a monthly collective research residency targeting different themes. Their interim findings are shared through presentations during ADAM Gathering.

Proceed to  about ADAM Artist Lab

平台計畫/國際結盟/亞當計畫/2024/藝術家實驗室 Artist Lab_主視覺圖(大檔)

Curatoké: Performance Curators Academy

Taipei Performing Arts Center is in collaboration with National Culture and Arts Foundation to launch Curatoké: Performance Curators Academy, a new initiative and professional development program for emerging curators working with performance in the fields of performing and visual arts. 

Curatoké looks at the curation in contemporary performance including its practices, methods, and studies, and acknowledges that transdisciplinary knowledge and practices of curating performance have become increasingly vital in the institutional realm internationally. To cultivate curators and cultural directorship for the next generation, Curatoké invites emerging curators to join the program, learning from peers and mentors, developing curatorial ideas, and broadening curatorial and cultural horizons.

Proceed to the Curatoké

平台計畫/2024策展人課程/亞當主頁_Curatoké視覺圖

Kitchen

The ‘ADAM's Kitchen’ showcases the work-in-progress presentations, it encourages and supports the creative process of artists' research, development and try-out, particularly those involving cross-cultural exchanges.

More information will be released by first half of July.

平台計畫/國際結盟/亞當計畫/2024/新作探索 Kitchen_主視覺(大檔)

Assembly

As a platform for performing the knowledge and producing curatorial and artistic discourses of our times, the ‘ADAM’s Assembly’ brings visual artists, performing artists and curators together to think, debate and respond to current issues and socially diverse voices in the art world through a series of talks, workshops and dialogues.

More information will be released by first half of July.

 

平台計畫/國際結盟/亞當計畫/2024/交流與論壇 Assembly_主視覺圖(大檔)

Collaborative and Supportive Institutions

😚臺北表演藝術中心:您的瀏覽器看起來不支援 ✪ Javascript ✪ 功能,若網頁功能無法正常使用時,請開啟瀏覽器 ✪ Javascript ✪ 狀態

亞當計畫

:::

亞當計畫

「亞當計畫 - 亞洲當代表演網絡集會」(Asia Discovers Asia Meeting for Contemporary Performance,ADAM)由臺北表演藝術中心於2017年策劃發起,是以「藝術家為核心」的網絡集會,目的為建立全新的亞太地區(包括紐澳)網絡平台,相互聯繫、共享資源,以「藝術家跨國發展創作」為訴求,讓年輕藝術家有更廣泛且持續的交流機會。「亞當計畫」主張「讓亞洲發現亞洲(Asia Discovers Asia)」,以創作者為核心,並與亞太場館、藝術節及策展人等攜手,投注共製和巡演資源,進一步建構亞太當代表演藝術網絡。

過去十餘年,特別在亞歐之間,透過表演藝術市集、場館、策展人、製作人之間的交流越趨頻繁。各種藝術網絡相互聯繫,共享資源,成為全球化文化產業及市場趨勢。在跨國合作的思維越趨制構化及格式化的同時,藝術家在產業結構中的角色越發重要。臺北表演藝術中心認為,如何深化藝術家之間的交流與合作、提供藝術家友善創作環境、協助藝術家發展關係網絡,並提供更為透明與自由的平台機制,是「亞當計畫」的運作根基,及作為公立劇院必須肩負的文化責任。

亞洲的多元文化場景,及臺灣的民主自由、豐沛的藝術能量,讓「亞當計畫」能成就一個以藝術家為核心的網絡。臺北表演藝術中心將連結亞太地區場館與藝術節夥伴的資源,協理藝術家的跨國交流,包括聯合委託創作、作品共製、巡演、駐館藝術家計畫、研究計畫等。「亞當計畫」超越政治與經濟藩籬,以及表演藝術與視覺藝術間的疆界,讓來自各種領域、國籍的藝術家都能在此相遇,認識學習亞洲文化,並發展未來計畫。

 

「亞當計畫」主張:
1. 支持藝術家的跨國合作與交流,建立藝術家與機構之間的良性對話。
2. 關懷亞太地區的藝術、文化、社會互動與脈絡。
3. 與夥伴共同治理經營,並開放各種組織提案合作。

 

作為一個共享網絡,臺北表演藝術中心邀請亞太各國場館夥伴共商「亞當計畫」的藍圖與組織運作。在長期發展的策略聯盟下,「亞當計畫」將成為亞太地區的跨網絡合作入口。

平台計畫/國際結盟/亞當計畫/2024/Banner/亞當元素圖-5

2024亞當計畫

策展論述

舞動時態

亞當計畫為放眼亞太地區機構場域,致力藝術家交流、研究和發展的計畫,今年相關活動於8月23日起跑,8月28日至9月1日於臺北表演藝術中心進行五天年會。

本屆亞當計畫以「舞動時態」(Choreographing Theirstories)為策畫概念,探討多義複數的歷史如何重塑對於當今時代的理解,以及藝術家們如何透過身體運動、行動和流動性,將身體、場域和歷史間的關係相互思辨與交織。

亞當計畫的焦點單元「藝術家實驗室」首次走出臺灣,與曼谷國際表演藝術集會(BIPAM, Bangkok International Performing Arts Meeting)合作,由其藝術總監莎莎賓.希芮旺吉(Sasapin Siriwanij)擔任客席策展人,與臺灣藝術家黃鼎云一起帶領「藝術家實驗室」於曼谷和臺北兩地進行。本屆匯集了來自越南、泰國、印尼、日本、澳洲、德國和臺灣的表演和視覺藝術家,透過非二元文化敘事的視角,深入探討城市、地方和社群的文化,個人和集體的他的故事(history)、她的故事(herstory)和他們的故事(theirstories)。

北藝中心今年也首度與國家文化藝術基金會合作,共同推出「Curatoké:表演策展人學院」,由丹尼爾.布蘭加.古貝(Daniel Blanga Gubbay)(比利時布魯塞爾藝術節聯合藝術總監)、傑夫.可汗(Jeff Khan)(澳洲墨爾本亞太表演藝術三年展創意總監)、奈塞.洛佩茲(Nayse López)(巴西Panorama藝術節藝術總監)、劉祺豐(Low Kee Hong)(英國曼特斯特國際工房創意總監)、魯瑟拉・西塔(Rucera Seethal)(南非藝術節藝術總監)、Faith Tan(新加坡濱海藝術中心節目策畫總監)組成的國際導師群,為培育下一代策展人開闢了一條新途徑。而亞當年會將作為一群來自臺灣、香港、印尼、澳洲和愛沙尼亞的年輕策展人與導師及同儕間對話、研究和學習的空間。

以呈現新計畫的發展過程為核心的「新作探索」單元,今年與各國際夥伴合作,邀請澳洲塊動舞團(Chunky Move)、澳洲表演藝術家艾瑪.梅.吉布森(Emma Maye Gibson),以及現居葡萄牙波多的巴西裔藝術家加雅.德.梅德羅斯(Gaya de Medeiros)參與。同時,去年「亞當藝術家實驗室」的臺灣原民藝術家林安琪(Ciwas Tahos)和日本編舞家松本奈奈子(Nanako Matsumoto)延續了當時的相遇、交流和對話,合作開展的新作也將在「新作探索」單元中進行階段性呈現,並於今年十月在京都藝術節首演。

亞當年會適逢臺北藝術節期間,當周精選節目包含蘇品文的《剩女經濟》、顧廣毅與羅伯特.強森的《蝙蝠祭》,以及瑪蒂德.莫尼葉(Mathilde Monnier)的《黑暗之光》(Black Lights),將與身體表現和編舞中的她的故事及他們的故事交織並產生共鳴。

此外,臺北藝術節自去年(2023)啟動的駐節策展研究計畫「流行群島」(Cruising)也將持續在亞太島嶼之間巡航。印尼舞蹈策展人海莉.米納提(Helly Minarti)的計畫《內之海》(The Sea Within),將延續去年的研究內容進行下一階段的呈現,同時,京都藝術節的三位聯合藝術總監暨策展人將開展名為《味之旅》(Traveling Tongues)的研究計畫,與來自日本、菲律賓和臺灣的藝術家透過食物、飲食習慣和文化身份認同,共同探討過去和現在洲際之間的遷徙與流動。除此之外,臺灣表演藝術櫥窗計畫(Showcase)中呈現的一系列舞蹈和戲劇節目亦將提供國際策展人及專業人士另一個窺探臺灣表演藝術生態的管道。

歡迎來到第八屆的亞當年會,邀請你從藝術家對於未知與開創性的探索中受到啟發,看各種歷史與現在的時態如何舞動,編織成一段屬於我們與他們的時代之旅。

策展人 - 林人中

 

臺北藝術節策展人、旅法藝術家,亦於北藝中心策劃亞當計畫及Camping Asia,為印尼舞蹈節共同策展人、2025年里昂舞蹈雙年展客座策展人、2024年歐洲OnCurating策展學期刊客座主編、北藝中心及國藝會共同主辦之「Curatoké表演策展人學院」計畫主持人,並擔任芬蘭ANTI當代藝術節及多項國際藝術交流計畫顧問。主編《身體網絡:當代表演的文化與生態》一書,文章散見於Art Basel、ARTouch、PAR表演藝術雜誌等。

藝術家個人網站:riverlin.art

照片版權出處:臺北表演藝術中心

藝術家實驗室

體現以藝術家為核心、主導的精神,「藝術家實驗室」邀請藝術家擔任客席策展,根據對全球當代藝術發展趨勢的體察,以主題策略做為規劃特色,透過公開徵選或邀請國內外藝術家於臺北進行為期一個月的駐地研究,藉此激發創意實驗,誘發新的跨域合作計畫,並於亞當年會期間進行駐地分享會。

前往藝術家實驗室

平台計畫/國際結盟/亞當計畫/2024/Banner/藝術家實驗室 Artist Lab_主視覺圖(大檔)

Curatoké:表演策展人學院

跨學科的表演策展知識與實踐在國際藝術機構場域越趨重要之際,推動當代表演的策展研究、方法、實踐及人才育成為當務之急,2024年臺北表演藝術中心與國家文化藝術基金會聯手推出「Curatoké:表演策展人學院」,希冀透過這項全新國際發展計畫,培育下一代的策展人及增強文化領導力,計畫藉由密集的課程,提供新銳策展人與導師學習、與同儕交流的機會,從中發展策展理念,拓展橫跨表演及視覺藝術領域的文化視野。

Curatoké 表演策展人學院

平台計畫/2024策展人課程/策展人實驗室第一層banner 1.jpeg

新作探索

邀請藝術家以發展中的創作計畫,呈現跨文化交流的發現、研究與特定議題的思索,「新作探索」作為跨域、跨文化新作品的階段性呈現舞台。

活動資訊將於七月上旬公告。

平台計畫/國際結盟/亞當計畫/2024/Banner/新作探索 Kitchen_主視覺(大檔)

交流與論壇

作為展演知識與追蹤時代趨向的平台,「交流與論壇」集結視覺及表演藝術家與策展人,透過一系列講座、工作坊及對談,探討國際當代表演藝術的最新脈動,交流最新產業趨勢。

活動資訊將於七月上旬公告。

平台計畫/國際結盟/亞當計畫/2024/Banner/交流與論壇 Assembly_主視覺圖(大檔)

合作夥伴